SeaVision Chat

This section provides a general overview of the chat feature in SeaVision to help you get started using chat.  Chat provides the ability to collaborate with other SeaVision users in your community and persona.

The Basics

Click the Chat menu item in the black navigation bar in your main SeaVision browser to open chat.  The chat feature will be opened in a separate browser window.

 

Chat 1

Chat 2

Chat 4

This is a what a typical SeaVision chat window looks like:

Chat Window
SeaVision Chat Window

Channels

Channels are used to organize conversations across the community. They are located on the left-hand panel of the SeaVision Chat window. 

Each community contains three types of channels: a Community Channel, Persona Channels, and Direct Messages.

Community Channel:

The Community Channel is open to everyone in a community. When users are added to a community they are automatically added to the Community Channel.  When messages are posted in the Community Channel they are visible to everyone in that community.

Persona Channels:

Persona Channels are for topics relevant to a persona and only visible to members of that persona. When users are added to a persona they are automatically added to the corresponding Persona Channel. 

Direct Message (DM) Channels:

Direct Messages are private conversations among two or more people and only visible to members of the Direct Message. Any member of a Direct Message can add additional members. Members can choose to leave a Direct Message group at any time, but only SeaVision Admins can remove other members.

 

Indicators

On-screen indicators notify users of unread messages and provide online status and user count for each channel.

Indicators
Chat Window Indicators

 

Online Status Indicator

The green circle below the user name in the top left-hand side of screen indicates your current online status.  

Online Indicator

 

User Count Indicator

The blue bubble left of the channel name in the left-hand sidebar shows the number of users in the channel.

User Count

 

Unread Messages Indicator

The orange circle right of the channel name in the left-hand sidebar appears when there are unread messages in the channel.  Clicking on the channel removes the indicator and brings you to the earliest unread message in the channel.

Unread Messages Indicator

 

Messages

Sending messages and replying to messages are important ways to keep conversations active within chat.  Clicking the channel name will take you to the chat conversation in that channel.

 

Sending Messages

Write a message by typing into the text input box, then press ENTER to send it. Use SHIFT+ENTER to create a new line without sending a message.

text input box

 

Creating a Direct Message

Click the (+) fab button to create a Direct Message to start a private conversation with one or more other users.

In the Create a New Direct Message pop-up window: 

  1. Enter a Name for the Direct Message
  2. Select from the list under Available Users to add them as members of the Direct Message
  3. Click Create button in lower right-hand corner.

create a new direct message

 

Adding Members to a Direct Message

Access the options menu      on the right-side of the top of the center pane or by hovering over the Direct Message name, and then select Edit Direct Message.

Options Menu - Edit Direct Message

Any member of the Direct Message can add new members by clicking the Checkbox next to a user’s names and then click Save. Users already added to the Direct Message will appear in the right-hand column under Current Users.

Edit Direct Message Dialog

 

Renaming a Direct Message

Access the options menu      on the right-side of the top of the center pane or by hovering over the Direct Message name, and then select Edit Direct Message.

Options Menu - Edit Direct Message

Enter a new Direct Message Name in the Edit Direct Message pop-up window, and then click Save. Anyone who is a member can rename the Direct Message.

Rename Direct Message

 

Leaving a Direct Message

Access the options menu      on the right-side of the top of the center pane or by hovering over the Direct Message name, and then select Leave Direct Message.

Leave Direct Message

Any team member who leaves a Direct Message must be re-added by a Direct Message member if they wish to rejoin.

 

Translating a Message

Use the language selection drop down (1), located under your username, to select the language you would like to see messages translated to (2)

                     

 

Click though the Google Translation API Disclaimer

 

Identify the message you would like to translate, and select the "Show/Hide Translation" icon (3)

 

Message translations will appear under the subject message (4) and will persists through page refreshes as long as you are logged in